© 2019 by Chase A. Manuel, L.L.C. All Rights Reserved.

Charged with A DUI?

Prosecutors Are Building Their Case Against You. 

Let's Build Your Defense.

DUI Laws In Louisiana

Louisiana DUI laws are complicated and constantly changing. The consequences for a DUI conviction rest upon a number of key factors. For example, a first DUI conviction in Louisiana may result in: license suspension, probation, alcohol education, community service, fines and court fees of up to $1000, and even a parish jail sentence from 48 hours to 6 months. With each additional conviction for driving while intoxicated the penalties become enhanced, culminating with a DUI forth offense being a felony charge with up to 30 years in state prison.

But there is still hope. You are entitled to have an experienced DUI attorney on your case. Get help with your drunk driving case today with your free case evaluation.

First Offense DUi

• A first offense DWI is a misdemeanor charge.
• 10 days to 6 months in jail, which may be suspended
.
• Fines of $300 to $1000, plus any legal fees
• License suspension of up to 90 days

Second Offense DUi

• A second offense DWI is a misdemeanor charge.
• Mandatory minimum 2 days in jail

• Sentence of 30 days to 6 months in jail, which may be suspended
• Fine of $750 to $1000, plus any and all legal fees.
• License suspension of up to 1 year.

Know Your Mandatory Minimums

• A third offense DWI is a felony charge.
• Jail time of 1 to 5 years; with a mandatory 45 days.
• Fine of up to $2000, plus any and all legal fees.
• License revoked for 2 years.
• Your vehicle may be seized by the state and sold, with you not receiving the proceeds.
• Mandatory substance abuse treatment.
• If placed on probation, you will also be required to complete 240 hours of community service.

• A fourth offense DWI is a felony charge.
• Jail time of up to 30 years in prison with a mandatory 75 days.
• Fine of up to $5000, plus any and all legal fees.
• License revoked for 2 years.
• Your vehicle may be seized by the state and sold, you not receiving the proceeds.
• Mandatory substance abuse treatment.
• If placed on probation, you will also be required to complete 320 hours of community service.

Third Offense DUi

fourth offense dui

Request a Free Case Review

No Cost, No Obligation

2901 Johnston St., Suite 206

Lafayette, LA 70503

 

Tel: (337) 237-0492

 

Fax: (337) 232-7758

 

info@manuellaw.org

  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram